Continuing with the Victim Blaming

As I am gaining courage telling friends about my abuse, I am finding out who my true friends are.  Most are appalled that I could have experienced such a tragedy.  Most are so overwhelmingly supportive that sometimes I don’t know how to thank them.  It is always so nice to be reassured in my healing process that it is OK to feel the way I do.  Sadly, there are one too many that have ended our friendship.

I know that if someone ends my friendship in such a time, they were not really my friend.  However, that doesn’t stop my heart from hurting knowing that I lost another friend over what this idiot did to me.  Why am I the one being punished? Why am I the one that has to bear the stigma of rape? Why am I the one that is embarrassed? I shouldn’t be, but I am.

Leave a Reply

