The love of my life

I just wanted to write a tribute to my darling husband.  He doesn’t know.  It is a surprise to him.  I have been thinking about it for awhile, and wanted to make sure I can make it as good as I could for him. 

When I am depressed and sickened by the abuse, my husband is the sunshine to my dark clouds.  He is the lighthouse to my ship.  He keeps me grounded and feeling safe.  He lets me share anything I need to with him and he isn’t scared by how I feel. He loves me.

I am so glad that God saw fit to make me run into him at the Café in college.  I told him before our first date what had happened to me.  I just knew that I could trust him.  He makes me feel safe and warm and loved.

He makes me feel like it is OK to mourn the loss of all of this mess, but he makes me remember that I have so much to be thankful for.  He is my rock and when I need to be held, he is the arms. 

When I look at my husband, I can’t help but to smile.  I feel so much happiness that I didn’t even know that I could feel.  I didn’t know that I deserved to feel like he stole my heart and it was OK.  I feel like a warm brownie covered in ice cream. 

I can’t imagine my life with out him and his support of this trial that I am overcoming.  I appreciate him so very much and I love him more than words can say.  All I can say about how I feel about him is that when I look into his eyes, I see the future and not the past.  He is my biggest cheerleader.  I am so glad I have him by my side.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

