Is Forgiveness Finding Peace?

I have been wondering what forgiveness is lately.  Ever since Easter, I have been struggling with forgiveness and what it means.  I decided to take a break from posting to see what I could come up with.

I don’t know if I can ever forgive my family and my rapist for what they did. However, I think I can find peace about it.

So what if forgiveness is finding peace about the abuse and rape that I endured as a child? 

I don’t know, but to me it is a profound thought.

My husband says that I am a very forgiving person, but that is with him.  I forgive him because I love him and adore him.  How can I forgive someone that I loved and trusted and they abused that trust in the worst way? 

Lately, I have been feeling so sad for my parents.  They are the ones that have to live in a false reality that they have to force to maintain.  I can be honest and open about my abuse and rape and that frees me.  Talking about it and being honest allows for me to be me.  They have to lay their heads down at night knowing that THEY are the ones that are living a lie.  How pathetic is that?

 

 

2 Comments

  1. I don’t think that you need to forgive your abuser to find peace. He doesn’t deserve that.
    But you need to forgive yourself, that you were not able to avoid the abusers abuse. You were not able to do anything because you were a kid and didn’t have that kind of needed power.
    This can help you to find the inner peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

